There were Cholil Mahmud (vocals, guitar), Adrian Yunan Faisal (bass, backing vocals), and Akbar Bagus Sudibyo (drums, backing vocals). The remaining of three left from the journey since year 2001 in 'studio melulu'. With patience, they're collecting their songs. Many name they have used. "Hush" (still five personel), "Superego" is an old story, before it gets to "Efek Rumah Kaca" in 2005. The name that they took from one of their song title, wrote in 2003.

In every song that they collect, the composition is designed congruent with the theme. Speculative reality. So the music is not just to entertain, but there is a reflection, and reality is also presented. Photographing the time. The lyrics laid out, sometimes poetic, some are advance. With a wide perspective, and rich of Indonesian language.

Present a simple pop music, but not forget to experiment. Indie-rock, progressive rock, punk, new wave, jazz, whatever is invited. Mixed with the influence of their idols: Jeff Buckley, Jon Anderson, Smashing Pumpkins, Radiohead, to Bjork.

“Melankolia” and “Di Udara” is the opening. In 2006 the songs were compiled into Do Re Mi (Paviliun Records) and Todays Of Yesterday (Bad Sector Records). Efek Rumah Kaca began to exist, introduce themselves to society. In August of 2007, Efek Rumah Kaca had a tour to many city in Java with their friends. An introduction to their debut album.

In September 2007, the selftitled debut album of Efek Rumah Kaca is released through Paviliun Records. The introduction went smoothly. The respond for their debut album was responded well, began with positive reviews from writers on the internet. The first single “Jatuh Cinta Itu Biasa Saja” started to get attention from the media and music listener Indonesia. But, most influential thing that spread the name of Efek Rumah Kaca to national public is their second single, “Cinta Melulu” - a cheerfully satire of Indonesian music industry which is dominated by love song themes that presented a mediocre musical compositions and lyrics.

Roads were opened, the debut album of Efek Rumah Kaca delivered stage performance series in the end of 2007 and go on until end of 2008. Also brought ERK to received "The Best Cutting Edge" - MTV Indonesia Music Award 2008, "Editor's Choice 2008" of the Rolling Stone Indonesia version, "Class Music Heroes 2008" and nominated for Anugrah Musik Indonesia Award 2008.

Less than a year later, December 19 of 2008, they released their second album named “Kamar Gelap” under Aksara Records. On this album, Efek Rumah Kaca passed on. Experimental music concluded, made the album more colorful, richer shades. Friends are invited to play together, Mondo, Ade (Sore) and Iman Fattah (Lain, Zeke and The Popo, Raksasa) enliven the sound recording. Angki Purbandono, an artist from Jogjakarta also come along, and his photography's art soon became content of the second album.

On one occasion, Efek Rumah Kaca believed to fill a special section about elections in the Kompas daily (for one month, published every Saturday in the month of January 2009). On another occasion, Efek Rumah Kaca continues to play stage-to stage, sing along the sensitive lyrics with audiences throughout Indonesia. Among the opportunities, Efek Rumah Kaca was saving their energy while building plans.

Clearly, Efek Rumah Kaca is still the same band since they're established : trying to write songs as good, as beautiful as possible, capturing reality, and hope to give an equivalent color images in the head. While occasionally cheered, not on anybody, but on its own course, so this call does not forget its functions; "Market Can Be Created!" They shouted.


*Text by Hilmi 'Majalah Sintetik'

  Album Release

Efek Rumah Kaca (self title)

Release Date: September 2007
Label: Paviliun Records
Produser: Efek Rumah Kaca, Harlan Boer
Song List:
  1. Jalang
  2. Jatuh Cinta Itu Biasa Saja
  3. Bukan Lawan Jenis
  4. Belanja Terus Sampai Mati
  5. Insomnia
  6. Debu-Debu Berterbangan
  7. Di Udara
  8. Efek Rumah Kaca
  9. Melankolia
  10. Cinta Melulu
  11. Sebelah Mata
  12. Desember
   Play & Download

  Album Release

Kamar Gelap

Release Date: 19 Desember 2008
Label: Aksara Records
Produser: Efek Rumah Kaca
Song List:
  1. Tubuhmu Membiru... Tragis
  2. Kau dan Aku Menuju Ruang Hampa
  3. Mosi Tidak Percaya
  4. Lagu Kesepian
  5. Hujan Jangan Marah
  6. Kenakalan Remaja di Era Informatika
  7. Menjadi Indonesia
  8. Kamar Gelap
  9. Jangan Bakar Buku
  10. Banyak Asap di Sana
  11. Laki-laki Pemalu
  12. Balerina
   Play & Download



Release Date: April 2010
Description: The song was released as a part of PEACE project initiated by Buffetlibre as a donation to Amnesty International, which is a compilation album featuring musician from 50 countries performing more than 180 exclusive songs
   Play & Download